Out on a Limb

Abstract figures have such expression – this one reminds me of a tree with strong branches and roots. The cloth is somehow draped over the limbs, but out of the scene so that is a little mysterious. There’s movement and solidity going on here at the same time.

There’s so much experimentation involved in creating pieces like this. When I photograph the models, they’re moving and I typically move the camera at the same time. This creates interesting and unexpected figures with an ethereal quality. I then go through my portfolio of abstract paintings (this one was acrylic with lots of scratching on the surface) and play with combining the figure and the paintings. Finding the right combination of shapes, textures, color, etc. takes some time and is really fun. I’m usually surprised at how they combine and when I find a combination I like, it’s a real aha! moment.

Leave a Reply

