Motion arrested…

“The aim of every artist is to arrest motion, which is life, by artificial means and hold it fixed so that a hundred years later, when a stranger looks at it, it moves again since it is life.”

– William Faulkner

I love this quote, which defines motion as life and the artist’s task to arrest it so it can be set forth again in the viewer’s eye. The dynamic tension between movement and stillness holds deep meaning for me. All of life exists in the infinitesimal gap between the two. The idea that everything exists simultaneously in such a timeless moment is echoed in areas as diverse as quantum physics, Tolle’s The Power of Now, Borges’ short story The Aleph, Zen koans and the work of M.C. Escher.

2 responses to “Motion arrested…

  1. I don´t know if this is a photo or a painting, but in fact I don´t care, it is simply beautiful. And i deeply love too the quote and your own words about movement. Movement of body and brain and generally of nature is the stuff out of which I wished each second of my life and love would be made… this is the reason too why death scares me so much, the absence of movement.
    It was really interesting for me to read your other entry about dancing and your lessons… i had not expected that! Funny is that one of the less things I have always regretted is not to have taken ballet lessons as I was a child! I love dance, I love ballet, and I love the artistic representation of it.
    Music is movement too, but somehow too abstract for me. I need to see and feel the movement…
    Really great entry Bob, wiht the book titles too…

Leave a Reply

