The Art of Illusion

transits 122, photograph

“I no longer worry whether a painting is about something or not. I am only concerned with the expectation, from a flat surface, of an illusion.”

William Scott

All art is illusion since it is a (mis)representation of reality in some way – unless you consider it as a physical object in it’s own right (a bit of paper or canvas, some pigment or emulsion). But the art always stands for something else and it can never be that thing entirely.

I like to bring that quality to the surface of my work so that when you look at it, it’s apparent that I’m not simply trying to replicate reality. I’m inviting you into the illusion, allowing you to add your own interpretation, to construct your own reality out of the sketchy elements I offer up.

It can be a little unsettling and it requires a bit more effort to create the story, and all good art comes with a story, either entirely personal or more communal. Sometimes the material I provide doesn’t inspire your imagination to engage, other times it sparks an unexpected journey.

Either outcome is fine, I just ask that you keep looking.

8 responses to “The Art of Illusion

  1. Thanks for helping me to return to essence of my deep satisfaction in exploring creative adventure and expression. There have been times today when my ego gets lost in measuring my worth as an artist by how much I have sold, rather than souled.

  2. These images are so poetic and evocative. I think you certainly succeed in allowing the viewer to construct their own story from the images. Really like that statement from Peter too. I may borrow it with credit.

  3. Your blog posts really challenge me, down in the core of my photography pursuing self… and this is another one. Geez. Will be chewing on this one for a while. Thanks Bob, and have a great day!

  4. I’ve deeply enjoyed wandering through your blog. It has really opened my mind to the possibilities in photography and the need to seeing without boundary. Inspiring.

  5. This is a nice blog you’ve got going! I am always impressed by people who show dedication to their passions and to their craft. Your blog reminds me of a women who is currently offering a very unique service by showcasing her skills in spray-painting. I implore anyone and everyone to click the following link to see what she has to offer🙂

    Click Here!

  6. Wonderful thoughts. I have noticed with myself that I have a tendency to “have to be perfect” which , I believe, is an absolute killer when it comes to creativity. There is the tendency to forget that “perfect” does not exist in Nature as is does not in Art. Freedom and interpretation should drive the creation.

Leave a Reply

